bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Kazakhstani insurance market is waiting for new game rules

The next year promises to be eventful for the insurance market. It is planned to update the legislation: the amendments have been becoming imminent for two years.
Kazakhstani insurance market is waiting for new game rules

The market and regulator are constantly discussing problematic issues and developing proposals requiring amendments to the legislation on the platform of the Financial Institutions’ Association of Kazakhstan (FIAK). “The regulator came up with an initiative to develop a draft law “On Amendments to Certain Legislative Acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the Regulation and Development of the Insurance Market and the Securities Market” but the concept of the bill must first be approved,” explains the FIAK Managing Director Yerlan Burabayev.

According to Burabayev, the concept of the bill is aimed at insurance development in general and creating conditions for expanding the range of insurance products for both individuals and legal entities. However, LICs are given a special attention; it is best to increase the social security of people through their products. LICs can offer not only traditional endowment insurance but also investment plans with insurance coverage, which will contribute to the household income growth.

Therefore, the concept of the draft law finally includes a life insurance product with the participation of the insured in investments (unit-linked), the availability of retirement annuity is expanded by reducing the sufficiency threshold of pension savings for its purchase. It is planned to introduce deferred and joint (spousal) retirement annuities, and involve the LICs in the state educational funded system (GONS).

The LIC representatives have been talking a lot about the need for these products recently. If such instruments appear on the insurance market, the architecture of LICs may change significantly, says Kairat Chegebayev, the Board Chairman of the LIC Nomad Life. “It is hard for me to imagine that one LIC is able to successfully work in all activity areas. Perhaps we will see specialization and orientation towards certain types of activities, Chegebayev predicts.

Although all the products discussed were important to the market, unit-linked was the one to break the lance over. This is an innovative product for Kazakhstan that combines life insurance and investments, and can be claimed as a risky, more marginal investment strategy. So far, the implementation of unit-linked is hindered by a number of restrictions that reduce consumer interest in it. For instance, there are restrictions (no more than 20% of the LIC's net asset value) on the total amount of investments in financial instruments issued by one person. There are administrative difficulties associated with keeping records of units of mutual investment funds (UIFs) after their purchase in the LIC portfolio.

Chegebayev clarifies that LICs together with the regulator have developed amendments to standard regulations in order to empower LICs with the ability to create unit-linked investment portfolios by analogy with mutual funds.

“The first step in expanding the unit-linked possibilities was to make the product as flexible as possible. At the second stage, if LICs are included in the pension reform as managers, it is planned to establish additional requirements for carrying out activities on such a product,” the source adds.

However, unit-linked is unlikely to change the paradigm of the LIC's investment declaration. According to Chegebayev, the bill does not imply the liberalization of investments. A conceptually different approach is proposed within the framework of unit-linked: the choice of investment strategies are left to the client and the funds of the customer and the LIC are kept on separate accounts of the custodian bank, which will make the product as transparent as possible. The insurance company will be responsible for servicing the client, providing him with the most attractive offers.

In Chegebayev's opinion, it is too early to make any predictions on how much premiums will be added by LIC unit-linked. According to the developed markets’ experience, unit-linked fees make in average 40-60% of industry-wide charges. The LIC premiums amounted to almost 200 billion tenge, including 77 billion tenge on life insurance in 2019, so you could imagine the size of turnover.

“We are quite optimistic about this product, but we realize that development will take time, people need to understand and accept the product,” Chegebayev summarizes.

Along with LICs, general insurance companies are also expecting a package of changes. The main positive news is the change in tariffs on Compulsory Legal Liability of vehicle owners, the most common type of insurance. Statistics show that the general loss indicator on legal liability is at an acceptable level, but there is a significant imbalance among regions and groups of policyholders. According to Burabayev, this suggests that some regions subsidize other regions and, in general, it is advisable to switch to greater individualization of tariffs. This means an actual increase in the cost of insurance and, as a result, an increase in the collection of premiums for the market.

Source: https://forbes.kz/finances/insurance/dobavit_premiy_1598290386/

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Dollarization of deposits in Kazakhstan grew against increased currency sales by exchange offices
Dollarization of deposits in Kazakhstan grew against increased currency sales by exchange offices

The national currency weakening by 18% led to total tenge deposit base growth by 7.6%...

Why is simplified customer identification important in online life insurance?
Why is simplified customer identification important in online life insurance?

On the one hand, the law on simplified identification of insurers' clients through ba...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Казахстанский рынок страхования ждёт новые правила игры

Следующий год обещает быть богатым на события для страхового рынка. Планируется обновить законодательство: в него внесут изменения, назревшие за последние пару лет.
Казахстанский рынок страхования ждёт новые правила игры

На площадке Ассоциации финансистов (АФК) рынок и регулятор постоянно обсуждают проблемные вопросы и вырабатывают предложения, требующие внесения изменений в законодательство. «Регулятор выступил с инициативой разработки проекта закона «О внесении изменений и дополнений в некоторые законодательные акты РК по вопросам регулирования и развития страхового рынка и рынка ценных бумаг», но для этого вначале нужно утвердить концепцию законопроекта», – поясняет управляющий директор АФК Ерлан Бурабаев.

По словам Бурабаева, концепция законопроекта направлена на развитие страхования в целом и создание условий для расширения линейки страховых продуктов как для физических, так и для юридических лиц. Однако КСЖ уделено особое внимание – через их продукты лучше всего повышать социальную защищенность граждан. КСЖ могут предлагать не только традиционное накопительное страхование, но и инвестиционные планы со страховой защитой, что будет способствовать росту доходов населения.

Поэтому в концепции законопроекта наконец-то заложен продукт страхования жизни с участием страхователя в инвестициях (unit-linked), декларируется расширение доступности пенсионного аннуитета за счет снижения порога достаточности пенсионных накоплений на его приобретение. Предполагается введение отложенных и совместных (супружеских) пенсионных аннуитетов, вовлечения КСЖ в государственную образовательную накопительную систему (ГОНС).

О необходимости этих продуктов представители КСЖ много говорили в последнее время. В случае появления на страховом рынке таких инструментов, архитектура КСЖ может существенно измениться, полагает председатель правления КСЖ Nomad Life Кайрат Чегебаев. «Мне сложно представить, что одна КСЖ сможет успешно работать на всех направлениях деятельности. Возможно, мы увидим специализацию и ориентирование на определенные виды деятельности, – прогнозирует Чегебаев.

Хотя все обсуждаемые продукты важны для рынка, по поводу unit-linked было сломано немало копий. Это новаторский для Казахстана продукт, соединяющий страхование жизни и инвестиции, и может быть востребован как рисковая, более маржинальная стратегия инвестирования. Пока внедрению unit-linked препятствует ряд ограничений, снижающих заинтересованность в нем потребителей. Например, существуют ограничения (не более 20% от стоимости чистых активов КСЖ) на суммарный размер инвестиций в финансовые инструменты, выпущенные одним лицом. Есть сложности администрирования, связанные с ведением учета паев паевых инвестиционных фондов (ПИФов) после их покупки в портфель КСЖ.

Чегебаев уточняет, что КСЖ совместно с регулятором разработали изменения в нормативные акты, чтобы наделить КСЖ возможностью создавать в рамках unit-linked инвестиционные портфели по аналогии с ПИФами.

«Первый этап работы по расширению возможностей unit-linked заключался в том, чтобы сделать продукт максимально гибким. На втором этапе в случае включения КСЖ в пенсионную реформу в качестве управляющих планируется установить дополнительные требования для осуществления деятельности по такому продукту», – добавляет собеседник.

Вместе с тем unit-linked вряд ли изменит парадигму инвестиционной декларации КСЖ. По словам Чегебаева, законопроект не предполагает либерализацию инвестиций. В рамках unit-linked предлагается концептуально иной подход – выбор стратегий инвестирования оставить за клиентом и раздельно учитывать средства клиента и средства КСЖ на счетах банка-кастодиана, что позволит сделать продукт максимально прозрачным. Страховая компания же будет отвечать за обслуживание клиента, предоставляя ему наиболее интересные предложения.

На взгляд Чегебаева, еще рано делать прогнозы о том, какой объем премий добавит КСЖ unit-linked. Согласно опыту развитых рынков, сборы по unit-linked составляют в среднем 40–60% от сборов всей отрасли. В 2019 премии КСЖ составили почти 200 млрд тенге, в том числе 77 млрд тенге по страхованию жизни, так что оборот представить можно.

«Мы достаточно оптимистичны в отношении данного продукта, но понимаем, что развитие займет время, людям нужно понять и принять продукт», – резюмирует Чегебаев.

Помимо КСЖ пакет изменений ожидают и компании по общему страхованию. Главная позитивная новость – изменение тарифов по ОГПО ВТС, наиболее массовому виду страхования. Статистика показывает, что общий показатель убыточности ОГПО ВТС находится на приемлемом уровне, но в разрезе регионов и групп страхователей присутствует существенный дисбаланс. По мнению Бурабаева, это говорит о том, что одни регионы субсидируют другие регионы и в целом целесообразно переходить на большую индивидуализацию тарифов. Для рынка это означает фактическое увеличение стоимости страхования и, как следствие, рост собираемости премий.

Источник: https://forbes.kz/finances/insurance/dobavit_premiy_1598290386/

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку