bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

The future of the life insurance market

The life insurance market is preparing to solve three major challenges such as interest rates, regulatory requirements, and technological re-equipment. As insurers look for new opportunities to generate returns in the face of lower interest rates in the stock market, adjust to changing regulatory environments and adopt new technologies, they are facing multiple risks. These are operational, compliance, competitive, technological risks and risks of modern business models, writes Risk.net.
The future of the life insurance market

When the Covid-19 pandemic hit, the interest rates collapsed with benchmark 10-year Treasury yields dropping to an all-time low of 0.6%. “In the asset portfolios of life insurers there are all kinds of securities of various companies today. For example, financiers are now investing in agriculture and infrastructure projects. Expanding the investment horizon with more alternative assets allows insurers to diversify returns. However, in addition to high return, this coin has another side as new risks that insurers are only learning to manage. Balancing the transition to new asset classes and understanding new risks will be key to the market,” said Milliman's Tony Dardis.

According to expert, life insurers need to remain flexible. Then they will be able to adapt to changing regulatory conditions. “Regulatory change requires a higher level of accountability. Regulators are trying to ensure that investments in new instruments do not lead to the bankruptcy of LICs. US regulators are also closely monitoring the introduction of artificial intelligence (AI) into the work of life insurance companies. Life insurance is one of the few industries considered to be lagging behind in terms of next-generation technology adoption. Many firms are still working with legacy systems, and the transition will undoubtedly take time,” the interlocutor predicts.

Life insurers were aggressively ramping up their technology and digital capabilities before the pandemic, and the epidemic accelerated market development. “However, companies are at different stages of using technology and data science. Not everyone can implement automation, powerful analytics to manage and grow their business. AI and robotic process automation can change the way insurance industry does business. Next-generation technologies can be used in the life insurance industry to better predict outcomes, improve customer service, manage new product development, identify risks and cross-promote products,” explains Tony Dardis.

Source: https://www.risk.net/asset-management/insurance/7945691/the-future-of-life-insurance

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
A large digital company in India turned its attention to life insurance
A large digital company in India turned its attention to life insurance

Paytm, an Indian company engaged in payment systems and e-commerce, as well as Aegon ...

How many trillions have Kazakhstanis accumulated?
How many trillions have Kazakhstanis accumulated?

According to the National Bank, as of January 1, 2022, 16.4 trillion tenge were kept ...

What is in store for online insurance market in 2019?
What is in store for online insurance market in 2019?

With all the advantages of online insurance, it takes time to get wide popularity amo...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Будущее рынка страхования жизни

Рынок страхования жизни готовится к решению трех основных проблем: процентные ставки, нормативные требования регуляторов и технологическое переоснащение. По мере того, как страховщики ищут новые возможности для получения доходности в условиях более низких процентных ставок на фондовом рынке, приспосабливаются к изменяющейся нормативно-правовой базе и внедряют новые технологии, они сталкиваются с множеством рисков. Это операционные, комплаенс, конкурентные, технологические риски и риски современных бизнес-моделей, пишет Risk.net.
Будущее рынка страхования жизни

Когда началась пандемия Covid-19, процентные ставки резко упали, при этом доходность эталонных 10-летних казначейских облигаций снизилась до беспрецедентно уровня в 0,6%. «В портфелях активов страховщиков жизни сегодня встречаются все виды бумаг различных компаний. Например, теперь финансисты вкладывают деньги в сельское хозяйство и инфраструктурные проекты. Расширение инвестиционного горизонта за счет большего количества альтернативных активов позволяет страховщикам диверсифицировать доходность. Но у этой медали помимо высокой доходности есть и другая сторона - новые риски, которыми страховщики только учатся управлять. Уравновешивание перехода к новым классам активов и понимание новых рисков будет иметь ключевое значение для рынка», - считает Тони Дардис из консалтинговой компании Milliman.

Эксперт говорит, что страховщики жизни должны оставаться гибкими. Тогда они смогут приспосабливаться к изменяющимся условиям регулирования. «Нормативные изменения требуют более высокого уровня подотчетности. Регуляторы пытаются гарантировать, что вложения в новые инструменты не приведет к банкротству КСЖ. Кроме того, регуляторы США пристально следят за внедрением в работу компаний по страхованию жизни искусственного интеллекта (ИИ). Страхование жизни является одной из немногих отраслей, которые считаются отстающими в плане внедрения технологий следующего поколения. Многие фирмы по-прежнему работают с устаревшими системами, и переход, несомненно, потребует времени», - прогнозирует собеседница.

До пандемии страховщики жизни агрессивно наращивали технологические и цифровые возможности, и эпидемия ускорила развитие рынка. «Тем не менее, компании находятся на разных этапах использования технологий и науки о данных. Не все могут внедрить автоматизацию, мощную аналитику для управления и развития своего бизнеса. ИИ и роботизированная автоматизация процессов могут изменить способ ведения бизнеса в страховой отрасли. Технологии следующего поколения можно использовать в сфере страхования жизни для более точного прогнозирования результатов, улучшения обслуживания клиентов, управления разработкой новых продуктов, выявления рисков и перекрестного продвижения продуктов», - объясняет Тони Дардис.

Источник: https://www.risk.net/asset-management/insurance/7945691/the-future-of-life-insurance

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Страховой рынок готов к переменам
Страховой рынок готов к переменам

В Алматы прошла встреча представителей топ-ме...

Кому нужен пенсионный аннуитет
Кому нужен пенсионный аннуитет

Аннуитеты в страховании жизни представляют со...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку