bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Longevity insurance

The birth rate worldwide has been steadily declining over the past few decades against the background of increasing life expectancy: the aging of the population has become global. According to the UN, in 2018, for the first time in human history, the number of people aged 65 and over exceeded the number of children under five years old, and by 2050, every sixth person in the world will be over 65, compared with every eleventh in 2019. Developed countries have long faced the problem of aging population and retirement benefits for the elderly. The problem is being solved in the United States as follows:
Longevity insurance

In world practice, there are two classical types of pension systems based on the principle of financing: pay-as-you-go and funded. In the pay-as-you-go pension system, payments to pensioners are made at the expense of the current income of workers (current tax revenues to the budget). In the funded system, the working generation pays contributions that are not spent on payments to the elderly but accumulated, invested and, together with the investment return, subsequently used to provide pensions to those who have been saving.

We can particularly highlight the notional-defined contribution pension system used in some countries, it combines elements of the pay-as-you-go and funded types of pension systems. Pension entitlement is earned by the participant's contributions to the pension system. At some point, prospective retirees enter into a deferred retirement annuity contract with a life insurance company.

“A deferred insurance annuity is an insurance agreement under which the insured person receives regular payments from a certain moment in the future. The term for these payments can be established by the contract, otherwise payments are made during the life of the insured person. Such contracts are usually concluded with the aim of maintaining income levels after the end of employment. The insurance company assumes the risk of longevity, that is, if a person lives longer than the average life, his income in total may exceed the amount that can be obtained from other investments. At the same time, if a person dies earlier than average, he or she loses some of the income. Thus, long-livers receive more income from contracts of customers with a shorter lifespan. The corresponding additional income of centenarians is called mortality credit,” explains ACRA.

This type of insurance is common in the United States. In general, all able-bodied US citizens can independently form their pension. There is a 401 (k) plan, a special account to which the employer transfers funds. This allows the employee to transfer a percentage of the salary to a tax-free account. More precisely, the tax is postponed until the time of retirement. The Americans save on taxes this way while making savings for the future. 401 (k) payments are usually 6% of pre-tax salary.

SIMPLE IRA is the second most popular pension plan. It is also called the IRA Employee Incentive Savings Account. Such a plan is most often offered by small private companies: the employer pays 1% -3% of the salary before taxes.

SEP IRA is a type of retirement insurance for self-employed people. The main distinguishing feature of IRA SEP is its high contribution limits. You can deposit up to 25% of your gross annual salary or 20% into your retirement account.

Social Security is a federal financial assistance program for the US residents and their dependent family members.

The US Treasury completed the creation of requirements for deferred life retirement annuity contracts or QLACs in the summer of 2014. This document provides an exception to taxation rules and additional requirements for insurers. For example, a person can pay $20,000 from their retirement savings at age 60 to purchase longevity insurance, which will receive $11,803 a year from age 85 until death. In this example, we can see that if a person lives to be 95, he will receive $118,030 for his $20,000. This is a rate of return that far exceeds the available profit from market rates.

The economic reason for high returns with low risk is that policyholders waive any claims for the initial investment. If a person dies before age 85 (the maximum age until which QLAC funds can be deferred), the insurance company pays nothing to his heirs and is not liable for his obligations to creditors.

Another reason for the high profitability is the rather long investment period, due to the delay in payment, which allows the insurance company to use less conservative investment policies. Besides, this retirement plan keeps the life insurance company’s client in the lower tax category, which results in good cost savings with a high investment return.

Many people buy such an annuity because it allows them to have financial protection in old age for a fairly small amount. Another benefit of QLAC is that it allows spouses create a joint deferred annuity.

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
The doctor told about the good of nettle
The doctor told about the good of nettle

Depression, fatigue, lowered immunity: all these problems can be solved with help of ...

How to turn life insurance into an inheritance
How to turn life insurance into an inheritance

The issue of preserving capital in the interests of future generations is acute for w...

The sole shareholder of JSC "Life Insurance Company "GAK" decided to pay dividends for 2017
The sole shareholder of JSC "Life Insurance Company "GAK" decided to pay dividends for 2017

The payment will be made in profit of the Republic’s budget in the amount of more t...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Страхование долголетия

Последние несколько десятилетий рождаемость в мире неуклонно снижается на фоне роста продолжительности жизни: старение населения стало глобальным. По данным ООН, в 2018 году впервые в истории человечества число людей в возрасте 65 и старше превысило количество детей до пяти лет, а к 2050 году каждый шестой человек в мире будет старше 65 лет по сравнению с каждым 11-м в 2019 году. Развитые страны давно столкнулись с проблемой старения населения и пенсионным обеспечением пожилых людей. Вот как решается эта проблема в США.
Страхование долголетия

В мировой практике различают два классических типа пенсионных систем по принципу финансирования: распределительная и накопительная. В распределительной пенсионной системе выплаты пенсионерам производятся за счет текущих доходов работающих (текущих налоговых поступлений в бюджет). В накопительной работающее поколение платит взносы, которые не расходуются на выплату пожилым людям, а накапливаются, инвестируются и вместе с полученными от инвестирования доходами в дальнейшем используются для пенсионного обеспечения именно тех, кто осуществлял накопление.

Особо можно выделить условно-накопительную пенсионную систему, которая применяется в некоторых странах и сочетает в себе элементы распределительного и накопительного типов пенсионных систем. При этом право на пенсию зарабатывается путем отчисления взносов участника в пенсионную систему. В какой-то момент будущие пенсионеры заключают договор отложенного пенсионного аннуитета с компанией по страхованию жизни.

«Отложенный страховой аннуитет – это договор страхования, по условиям которого застрахованное лицо получает регулярные выплаты, начиная с определенного момента в будущем. Срок этих выплат может быть установлен договором, в противном случае выплаты осуществляются в течение срока жизни застрахованного лица. Такие договоры, как правило, заключаются с целью поддержания уровня доходов после окончания трудовой деятельности. Страховая компания принимает на себя риск долгожития, то есть если человек живет дольше среднего срока жизни, его доход по такому в совокупности может превысить сумму, которая может быть получена от других инвестиций. В то же время если человек умирает раньше среднего срока, он недополучает часть доходов. Таким образом, долгожители получают больший доход за счет договоров клиентов с более коротким сроком жизни. Соответствующий дополнительный доход долгожителей называется mortality credit», - объясняют в АКРА.

Этот вид страхования распространен в США. Вообще, все трудоспособные граждане Соединенных Штатов могут самостоятельно формировать пенсию. Так существует план 401(k) — специальный счёт, на который средства перечисляет работодатель. Это позволяет наёмному сотруднику перечислить процент от заработной платы на необлагаемый налогами счёт. Точнее – налог откладывается до момента выхода на пенсию. Каким образом американцы сразу экономят на налогах, откладывая при этом на будущее. Обычно размер выплат на счёт 401(k) составляет 6% от зарплаты до выплаты налогов.

SIMPLE IRA — второй по популярности тип пенсионного плана. Его также называют «Сберегательный поощрительный счёт для сотрудников IRA». Чаще всего такой план предлагают небольшие частные компании – работодатель выплачивает 1%-З% от зарплаты до вычета налогов.

SEP IRA — тип пенсионного страхования для самозанятых людей. Главная отличительная черта IRA SEP – высокие пределы взносов. Вы можете внести на свой пенсионный счёт до 25% валовой годовой зарплаты или 20%.

Социальное страхование — это федеральная программа финансовой помощи жителям CШA, a также зависимым от них членам семьи.

Летом 2014 года Казначейство США завершило создание требований для договоров отложенного пожизненного пенсионного аннуитета или QLAC. Этот документ предоставляет исключение из правил налогообложения и дополнительные требования к страховщикам. Так, человек может заплатить 20 000 долларов из своих пенсионных сбережений в возрасте 60 лет, чтобы приобрести страховку долголетия, по которой он будет получать 11 803 доллара в год, начиная с 85 лет и до самой смерти.  В этом примере мы видим, если человек доживет до 95 лет, он получил бы 118 030 долларов на свои 20 000 долларов. Это норма доходности, намного превышает доступную прибыль от рыночных ставок.

Экономическая причина высокой доходности при низком риске объясняется тем, что страхователи отказываются от любых претензий на первоначальные инвестиции. Если человек умирает до 85 лет (это максимальный возраст, до которого могут быть отложены средства QLAC), страховая компания ничего не платит его наследникам и не отвечает по его обязательствам перед кредиторами.

Следующей причиной высокой доходности является достаточно длинный инвестиционный период, из-за отсроченности выплаты,  что позволяет страховой компании использовать менее консервативные политики инвестирования. Более того, этот пенсионный план помогает удержать клиента компании по страхованию жизни в более низкой налоговой категории, что дает хорошую экономию средств, при высокой инвестиционной доходности.

Многие люди покупают такой аннуитет, так как он дает им возможность за достаточно небольшую сумму иметь финансовую защиту при старости. Еще одним преимуществом QLAC является то, что он позволяет супругам создать совместный отложенный аннуитет.

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Рынок страхования в Казахстане в 2018 году вырастет на 10%
Рынок страхования в Казахстане в 2018 году вырастет на 10%

Такое мнение выразил глава "Коммеск-Омир" Олег...

65% миллениалов покупают пенсионный аннуитет – опрос
65% миллениалов покупают пенсионный аннуитет – опрос

Несмотря на отрицательные стереотипы, согласн...

Разработана функция ONE Coach - "телематика для человека»
Разработана функция ONE Coach - "телематика для человека»

Она позволяет рассчитывать индивидуальные ри...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку