bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

S&P: LICs are on the rise

Thanks to changes in legislation, the life insurance companies (LICs) can significantly expand the range of their services this year. Thus, in particular, the age of potential clients for concluding a deferred retirement annuity agreement was reduced, and so was the amount of savings sufficient to conclude a deferred annuity retirement agreement.
S&P: LICs are on the rise

The actual amendments expanded the age range for those citizens who would like to conclude a retirement annuity agreement. Yekaterina TOLSTOVA, the Deputy Director of the Financial Institutions Group, S&P Global Ratings, told DK whether the market was ready for changes.

- Yekaterina, what was the last year for life insurers?

- S&P Global Ratings continues to be positive about the growth prospects for the life insurance sector in 2021 supported by a number of regulatory initiatives and increase in insurance premiums from a low base over the past few years.

We observed that life insurance companies in Kazakhstan performed well in 2020 despite restrictive measures due to the spread of coronavirus infection and volatility in financial markets. The increase in premiums of LICs is about 16%, which is in the baseline scenario of S&P Global Ratings and higher than the indicators of general insurance companies in Kazakhstan.

Despite the restrictive measures and general economic situation, LICs demonstrated a sustainable performance. Return on equity (ROE) and return on assets (ROA) were about 39% and 7% in 2020, respectively. This is above the average ROA and ROE of life insurance companies over the past three years of 30% and 3.4%, respectively.

The financial results of LICs were formed by insurance and investment activities, including the positive foreign currency revaluation of financial instruments denominated in foreign currencies.

We expect the double-digit premium growth trend (over 15%) to continue in 2021 due to regulatory changes, including those related to legislative amendments on retirement annuities, already introduced tax benefits for the insured, improving the macroeconomic situation, increasing the purchasing power of individuals and the revival of economic activity.

- How will the amendments concerning the retirement annuity affect the life insurance market of the Republic of Kazakhstan?

- We think these amendments will allow insurance companies to expand their client base and increase the volume of signed insurance premiums. In 2020, they showed a positive trend in retirement annuities that increased by 9% proving the sector's growth potential in the future.

- How will the life insurance market change?

- We expect the largest players to maintain their positions in the market. The three largest companies made 70% of the market in 2020, compared with 72% in 2019. However, we expect that the concentration on the three largest players will decline in the medium term, as companies outside the top 3 will continue to increase their share in the life insurance market by strengthening their positions, market recognition and attracting new customers.

We believe, due to a number of factors the life insurance market has growth potential. First, the insurance service penetration remains rather low (less than 1% of GDP). Secondly, many insurance companies carry out activities to raise public awareness of insurance products, including life insurance, which increases interest in this type of insurance.

Another positive factor for life insurance companies in 2020 was the transfer of household assets to life insurance products rather than bank deposits, due to the higher investment return of such instruments. This is especially true for insurance products denominated in US dollars.

Due to underdeveloped domestic capital market in Kazakhstan, insurance companies invest predominantly in quasi-government and sovereign bonds in order to ensure sufficient diversification of assets and a conservative investment portfolio profile in general. However, local financial markets less developed than in Europe, constrain the life insurance sector's ability to manage mismatches of assets and liabilities by currency type, allocate capital efficiently and provide access to long-term sources of investment other than government debt and deposits. Thereby, this factor remains one of the main opportunities for future market development.

The situation for life insurance companies remains more favorable than for general insurance companies. S&P Global Ratings believes that the majority of Kazakhstani insurance companies rated by the agency are well positioned to weather the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, thanks to their capital and liquidity reserves.

Source: https://www.dknews.kz/inner-news.php?id_cat=27&&id=164591

Share
read also
How the coronavirus crisis changed the way life insurers work with intermediaries
How the coronavirus crisis changed the way life insurers work with intermediaries

Pavel Ananyev, Vice-president, Director of retail sales at JSC IC MetLife, wrote a co...

Nomad Life received a license for investment portfolio management
Nomad Life received a license for investment portfolio management

It is reported by the National Bank of Kazakhstan on its official website nationalban...

Why do we need to insure life?
Why do we need to insure life?

You can gain confidence in yourself and in your future only by fully taking responsib...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

S&P: КСЖ набирают вес

В этом году компании по страхованию жизни (КСЖ) благодаря изменениям в законодательстве могут существенно расширить спектр собственных услуг. Так, в частности, был снижен возраст потенциальных клиентов для заключения договора пенсионного отложенного аннуитета, а также уменьшен размер суммы накоплений, достаточных для заключения договора пенсионного отложенного аннуитета.
S&P: КСЖ набирают вес

Фактически внесенные изменения позволили расширить возрастной диапазон для тех граждан, кто хотел бы заключить договор пенсионного аннуитета. Екатерина ТОЛСТОВА, заместитель директора группы «Финансовые институты», S&P Global Ratings, рассказала ДК, насколько готов рынок к переменам.

– Екатерина, каким был прошлый год для страховщиков жизни?

– S&P Global Ratings продолжает позитивно оценивать перспективы роста в секторе страхования жизни в 2021 году, что поддерживается рядом инициатив регулирующего органа и ростом страховой премии с низкой базы в последние несколько лет.

В 2020 году мы наблюдали, что компании по страхованию жизни в Казахстане показали хорошие финансовые результаты, несмотря на ограничительные меры в связи с распространением коронавирусной инфекции и волатильностью на финансовых рынках. Прирост страховой премии КСЖ составил около 16%, что в рамках базового сценария S&P Global Ratings и выше показателей компаний по общему страхованию в Казахстане.

Несмотря на ограничительные меры и общую экономическую ситуацию, КСЖ продемонстрировали устойчивость показателей. В том числе показатели рентабельности капитала (ROE) и рентабельности активов (ROA) составили около 39% и 7% в 2020 году соответственно. Это выше средних показателей ROA и ROE компаний по страхованию жизни за последние три года в 30% и 3,4% соответственно.

Мы отмечаем, что финансовые результаты КСЖ сложились за счет страховой и инвестиционной деятельности, в том числе за счет положительной валютной переоценки финансовых инструментов, номинированных в иностранной валюте.    

Мы ожидаем, что в 2021 году тенденция к двузначному росту премии (более 15%) продолжится в связи с регуляторными изменениями. В том числе, касающимися законодательных поправок о пенсионных аннуитетах, уже введенными налоговыми льготами для застрахованных, улучшением макроэкономической ситуации, повышением покупательной способности физических лиц и оживлением экономической активности.

– Как поправки, которые касаются пенсионного аннуитета, отразятся на рынке страхования жизни РК?

– На наш взгляд, эти поправки позволят страховым компаниям расширить базу клиентов и увеличить объем подписанных страховых премий. Уже в 2020 году они показали положительную динамику по пенсионным аннуитетам, которые выросли на 9%, что говорит о потенциале роста сектора в дальнейшем.

– Как изменится рынок страхования жизни?

– Мы ожидаем, что крупнейшие игроки будут удерживать свои позиции на рынке. На долю трех крупнейших компаний приходилось 70% рынка в 2020 году в сравнении с 72% в 2019 г. Однако мы ожидаем, что в среднесрочной перспективе концентрация на трех крупнейших игроках будет снижаться. Так как компании за пределами топ-3 продолжат наращивать долю на рынке страхования жизни в силу укрепления своих позиций, узнаваемости на рынке и привлечения новых клиентов.

Мы считаем, что рынок страхования жизни обладает потенциалом роста. Это связано с рядом факторов. Во-первых, проникновение страховых услуг остается довольно низким (менее 1% от ВВП). Во-вторых, многие страховые компании проводят мероприятия по повышению осведомленности населения о страховых продуктах. В том числе в страховании жизни, что повышает интерес к данному виду страхования. 

Дополнительным позитивным фактором для компаний страхования жизни стал перевод активов населения в продукты страхования жизни, начавшийся в 2020 году, а не в банковские депозиты, в связи с более высокой инвестиционной доходностью таких инструментов. Особенно это относится к страховым продуктам, номинированным в долларах США.

В связи с недостаточным развитием внутреннего рынка капитала в Казахстане, страховые компании инвестируют преимущественно в квазигосударственные и суверенные облигации, чтобы обеспечить достаточную диверсификацию активов и в целом – консервативный профиль инвестиционного портфеля. В то же время менее развитые, чем в Европе, финансовые рынки Казахстана ограничивают возможности сектора страхования жизни в том, что касается управления несовпадением активов и обязательств по типу валюты, эффективного распределения капитала и предоставления доступа к долгосрочным источникам инвестиций, за исключением государственных долговых обязательств и депозитов. Как следствие, этот фактор остается одной из основных возможностей для будущего развития рынка.

Ситуация для компаний сектора страхования жизни остается более благоприятной, чем для компаний по общему страхованию. S&P Global Ratings считает, что большинство казахстанских страховых компаний, имеющих рейтинги агентства, обладают хорошими возможностями для того, чтобы выдержать последствия пандемии COVID-19, благодаря запасам капитала и ликвидности.

Источник: https://www.dknews.kz/inner-news.php?id_cat=27&&id=164591

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Сколько компаний приостановили свою деятельность
Сколько компаний приостановили свою деятельность

В Казахстане свыше 102,6 тыс. компаний временно п...

Численность населения Казахстана на 1 марта достигла 18,43 млн человек
Численность населения Казахстана на 1 марта достигла 18,43 млн человек

По сравнению с 1 мартом 2018 года численность на...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку