bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Sedentary lifestyle was associated with diabetes development in women

Long-term observation on lives of several hundred women helped American doctors evaluate how a sedentary lifestyle affects the chances of getting type II diabetes, TASS reports.
Sedentary lifestyle was associated with diabetes development in women

Doctors and sociologists have recently begun to comprehensively study how a sedentary lifestyle and low level of physical activity affect people's lives. In particular, five years ago scientists proved that hypodynamia and a sedentary lifestyle significantly raise a possibility of getting diabetes, as well as heart and vascular diseases.

Scientists gathered a group of five hundred elderly and middle-aged female volunteers, handed them belts with built-in accelerometers and observed them for several weeks.

Diabetes and Sofa

The data obtained by these devices allowed the scientists not only to evaluate how much time women spent sitting in an armchair or sofa, but also track the typical duration of each period of immobility. Having had compared these data with medical indicators American doctors revealed several interesting patterns.

Their calculations showed that the blood sugar level and sensitivity of women’s body cells to insulin did not primarily depend on the general level of immobility, but on how much time they spent on the couch or in chair without getting up. In this case every 15 minutes of sitting increased blood sugar by 1% in women of European descent, and 5% - in women from Latin American countries.

The concentration of insulin in blood was rising in a similar way: over the same period, it increased by 7%, and the level of immunity to this hormone rose by 9% in all participants in the experiment. As scientists emphasize, the growth rate of these indicators fell significantly if women took breaks by getting up every once in a while.

Therefore, scientists believe that doctors and healthcare employees must convince women that they should get up as often as possible and sit less often, which is especially true for older women. For this, as experts emphasize, it is not necessary to be into sports. A positive effect was also observed when the research participants were engaged in any activity, including cleaning or cooking.

Source: https://nauka.tass.ru/nauka/7778471

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Additional guarantee for insurance benefits is planned to be introduced in Kazakhstan
Additional guarantee for insurance benefits is planned to be introduced in Kazakhstan

It was announced by the Chairman of the National Bank, Daniyar Akishev...

Additional options for life insurance policies
Additional options for life insurance policies

Life insurance shows a high degree of responsibility to your family. For example, the...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Сидячий образ жизни связали с развитием диабета у женщин

Длительные наблюдения за жизнью нескольких сотен женщин помогли американским медикам оценить то, как сидячий образ жизни влияет на шансы получить диабет второго типа, сообщает ТАСС.
Сидячий образ жизни связали с развитием диабета у женщин

Медики и социологи начали всесторонне изучать то, как сидячий образ жизни и низкий уровень физической активности влияют на жизнь людей совсем недавно. В частности, пять лет назад ученые показали, что гиподинамия и сидячий образ жизни заметно повышают вероятность заполучить диабет, а также болезни сердца и сосудов.

Ученые собрали группу из пяти сотен женщин-добровольцев пожилого и среднего возраста, раздали им пояса со встроенными акселерометрами и на протяжении нескольких недель следили за их жизнью.

Диабет и диван

Данные, которые собрали эти приборы, позволили ученым не только оценить то, как много времени женщины проводили, сидя в кресле или на диване, но и отследить типичную продолжительность каждого такого периода неподвижности. Сопоставив эти данные с медицинскими показателями, американские медики раскрыли несколько интересных закономерностей.

Их расчеты показали, что уровень сахара в крови и чувствительность клеток тела женщин к инсулину в первую очередь зависела не от общего уровня неподвижности, а того, как много времени они проводили на диване или в кресле, не поднимаясь с них. В таком случае каждые 15 минут сидения повышали уровень сахара в крови на 1% у женщин европейского происхождения, и на 5% – из стран Латинской Америки.

Аналогичным образом росла и концентрация инсулина в крови: за те же сроки она повысилась на 7%, а уровень невосприимчивости к этому гормону при этом у всех участниц эксперимента вырастал на 9%. Скорость роста этих показателей, как подчеркивают ученые, значительно падала, если женщины делали «перерывы», периодически вставая с места.

Поэтому ученые считают, что врачам и сотрудникам здравоохранительных ведомств надо убеждать женщин в том, что они должны как можно чаще вставать с места и реже сидеть, что в особенности касается пожилых дам. Для этого, как подчеркивают ученые, не обязательно увлекаться спортом, положительный эффект наблюдался и в том случае, когда участницы наблюдений занимались любыми делами, в том числе уборкой или приготовлением пищи.

Источник: https://nauka.tass.ru/nauka/7778471

Фото из открытых источников       

Поделиться
читайте также
КСЖ – новый драйвер страхового рынка
КСЖ – новый драйвер страхового рынка

Совокупные страховые премии за минувший год в...

Миллионеры из Сингапура и Гонконга передают страховку в наследство
Миллионеры из Сингапура и Гонконга передают страховку в наследство

По мнению миллионеров из Сингапура и Гонконга,...

10 заболеваний, которые передаются по женской линии
10 заболеваний, которые передаются по женской линии

Наши гены определяют не только внешний вид и ч...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку